Where the top 10 women are starting their tennis seasons

On January 1, 2017, a new Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) tennis season begins with three main draw events taking place across three countries. The main draw of the Brisbane International in Brisbane, Australia starts on January 1st, and both the ASB Classic in Auckland, New Zealand and Shenzhen Open in Shenzhen, China events commence on January 2nd.

Angelique Kerber striking a forehand
Angelique Kerber striking a forehand

The top 10 women will be starting their seasons at the following locations:

  1. Angelique Kerber – Brisbane, Australia
  2. Serena Williams – Auckland, New Zealand
  3. Agnieszka Radwanska – Shenzhen, China
  4. Simona Halep – Shenzhen, China
  5. Dominika Cibulkova – Brisbane, Australia
  6. Karolina Pliskova – Brisbane, Australia
  7. Garbine Muguruza – Brisbane, Australia
  8. Madison Keys – recovering from wrist surgery
  9. Svetlana Kuznetsova – Brisbane, Australia
  10. Johanna Konta – Shenzhen, China

For a more complete list of tournament entrants, go to the official WTA Tennis website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s